Catalytic converter

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yellowfoil

Hi everyone.
As an occasional scrapper, I collect all kinds of items containing precious metals and I came across, I believe, is an inside of some kind of big catalytic converter from truck. It was discarded in trash bin in front of a scrapyard. All together about thirty pounds. I have no experience with cats at all, and can’t say for sure if it has any value. Could anybody identify it? Pictures included, represent color and texture of the item in question pretty well. Size of tubes is same as any other catalytic converter I have seen before and all of it, I believe, is from one big converter. Thanks.

Attachments

• DSC09308.JPG
    DSC09308.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 309
  • DSC09304.JPG
    DSC09304.JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 309
  • DSC09296.JPG
    DSC09296.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 310
Lino1406 said:
The contents of PM's is barely 0.5%. So dealing with a lonely converter will not be fruitful

Completely correct.

Also do you really want to mess around with severely toxic crap for a tiny return?

Hi Lino and Anachronism.

Thanks for your reply, but you jump the conclusion that I want to process it. Not now for sure, and probably never, because I will not pay for cats and they are not easy to find for free. I have few cats from cars, in addition to item in question, but for now, I’ll stick with gold only.

The question was, if somebody could identify it and give me idea about quality of this material. I sold few cats from cars and all of them looked black on surface, assuming platinum, but this one looks greenish on surface. Palladium? I don’t even know from what equipment it is, in might be something from industry with different catalyst.