Removing gold plating from silverware

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ItayEdry

So I am a jeweler based in New Orleans, LA USA. I recently was given a task of removing a gold plating from an antique silverware set. The one piece that I have experimented with was very easy to remove the gold from by using a buffing wheel so I accepted the challenge of removing the gold plating from whole set of 150+ pieces. Soon enough I have learned that the majority of those items are plated with a very heavy layer of gold that will be impossible to remove buffing without damaging the delicate patterns of the silverware. I was referred to this forum by a friend.
Here is the technical part:
*I am seeking advice on how to chemically remove the gold plating.
*The under-metal is solid sterling silver
*I am not necessarily interested in recovering the gold (though it would be nice to do so if I do not need to greatly invest in equipment)
*Some of the pieces (the knives) have a stainless steel part
*The silver must not be damaged

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

ItayEdry said:
*I am not necessarily interested in recovering the gold (though it would be nice to do so if I do not need to greatly invest in equipment)
That's going to be a tough task considering you don't want to damage the silver. As you're aware, buffing will damage it, at least to some degree.

There are a couple of methods used to strip gold plating.

Many members use a sulfuric acid stripping cell to remove gold plating. But they use it on gold plated base metals. The base metals don't react to the cell like the gold plating, but the silver probably will, so its finish may be damaged.