Things you do BEFORE you process an ore

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Ok so I'm new to Au chemical recovery and extraction.

I've been reading up on various methods and I've seen the warnings about NOT using any acids on ores before knowing what's in them.

But I'm confused on what my next step is.

I'm in the golden triangle of Victoria and I've got access to a good range of likely ores almost all of which contain large amounts of iron. Arsenic can be an issue and there are a bunch of sulphides in the mix as well.

I know I need to climb the learning curve but I need some direction on where to go next.

I’m not a mining or ore expert but my advice would be to get good assays done to find out exactly what you have in the mix, this will identify any risks you might encounter and also help point you in the right direction for recovery if worthwhile. Ores are not the easiest material to work with due to the mix of elements they contain some of which will interfere or even stop economic recovery, most mining operations use cyanide to recover the gold but even they may have to carry out further processes before attempting a cyanide leach.

One of the things that I find odd on this forum is the repeated suggestion to get an assay done.

I find this odd because (I presume) most of the refiners here are backyard guys or at most small scale. Instead of refining the gold bearing material you collect why not send it off for processing by a professional?

The openness to sharing and learning methods to refine on a small scale seems at opposed to learning how to develop methods to assess ore prior to refining.

So I guess what I'm saying is.....ok I need to know what I'm dealing with how do I do that? What assay methods do I use? How do I interpret the none gold results?