Stannous chloride testing

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jazzy

Hi guys,

I am in the process of precipitating gold from a stack of scrap computer parts.

I am up to the stage where I have liquidfied the gold using HCL and a dash of bleach and no traces of the gold foils remain.

I have added a couple of teaspoons of Sodium Metabisulfite and it seems that things are precipitating well with a fair bit of black powder forming at the bottom of the beaker.

I am completely new to all of this, so it has been a bit of trial and error. But so far so good, I think.

I bought some stannous chloride power (which I received today) and mixed 0.3 gm to 10 ml of HCL and heated for about ten minutes (as per information I have found on this site - no instructions came with the powder itself).

I just tested the solution that has been precipitating for a few days and it gives a strong dark indication on some filter paper.

My question is, can this test indicate a false positive with other elements/chemicals, or is this a clear cut sign that there is more gold to precipitate?

Again, first time doing this and chemistry wasn't a subject that I studied many decades ago in High School. SO hopefully this doesn't come across as a silly question.

Thanks in advance. :)

The reaction should be a violet color.

if precipitating gold from dirty (copper or base metal-rich) solutions, adding too much sodium metabisulfite can reduce other metal ions like copper II to form a brown reaction of copper I chloride...

Ah ok. That's good to know.

I'll do another test in the morning. There is no doubt going to be copper in the solution given the origin of the material.

Will letting the precipitate sit in HCL break down the copper again leaving just the gold precipitant? Or is there something else I need to do to make sure I am left with just the gold particles?

Thanks again.