Selling Price after melt

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob Mack

Hi
I'm having some a fair bit of scrap melted,
Then off to sell it! Its my first time to sell melted scrap.
I have 168 grams of 14 karat gold. I use a site goldcalc for the true value etc.
What is the normal buying price i.e. .90 to the dollar or less (90% of the true value or less).
any info on this will be appreciated, don't want to be ripped off.
2. I also buy scrap at .60 cents to the dollar (60% of real value) is this considered fair or too low or too high?
I'm still leaning this business.
Thanks
Rob

I have limited experience but I will answer the best that I can. I think that a 90% return on your scrap gold is fair, if you are dealing with an honest buyer but I don't see any advantage to melting karat gold before selling. You are taking an identifiable form of gold and making it unidentifiable which then requires more time and effort to re-identify it, not to mention your time and expense to melt it.
If you can purchase scrap at 60% I say great, get it as cheap as possible. The pawn shops around here usually pay 60%-65% so I pay 70%. If I don't process it myself I can sell locally at 80% so a quick 10% return isn't too bad in my book.

Your buying price is governed by what others are paying locally and what the customer will accept plus what your morals are, the selling price should be around 95%+ for a bar but you need to know what you have which is why many US members refine their material as assays are not cheap there and not all buyers are honest, back to morals again.