Gas mask & fumes danger

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

xXthruXx

Hi everyone.

I'm new to gold recovery, and I've been doing some reading now, which will hopefully lead up to my 1st recovery. :)
I've found out that I should get a chemical gas mask to protect me from dangerous fumes that are byproducts of the gold recovery process.

I have two questions concerning this topic:
1. Is it really necessary? (asking because only 1 in every 10 resources I've read on this topic had any mention of such gas mask).
2. If it is, then what kind of mask or filter should I buy? I've tried searching for it by the specifications given in one of the resources but I came up empty-handed. Can you link any masks/filters that'd do the job?

Thanks in advance! :D

Most filters will not protect against NOx at all.

Even if your filter is made for the job, you will not discover a filter break through in good time - that is why hazmat teams don't use them to protect against gases and vapors in the black zone, - if at all only in the decontamination area.

Search the forum for "scrubber" and "fume hood".

solar_plasma is right - you WILL NOT find a cartridge type respirator of any kind at any hardware store that will filter out NOx fumes - when you see people using them on youtube &/or read about using them from other places on the web you are being "mis-informed" & that is because "they do not know what they are taking about" --- they may look, sound & even think that they know - but the fact is they don't

The real question here is --- where do you plan to do this :?:

That is a real big question because there are ONLY two safe ways/places to do this --- You ether do it ENTIRELY & COMPLETELY OUTSIDE - or you have a DEDICATED indoor place to do this & if you go with an indoor place there are very important things that MUST be done to make it SAFE & DEDICATED