Nitric acid skin contact

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

niks neims

Hello everybody, i got a little confused today :)

I am currently studying forum and Hoke`s book with romantic dreams of gold recovery from e-waste, in the same time i am gathering/dismantling scrap, setting up workspace and getting chemicals; recently i got myself some nitric acid (technical 50-60%).

Still a long long way to go but today i decided to give myself a break from reading forum and treat myself with some practical experiments with acid :)

my setup is as follows:

i have my work table in the middle of an open grass field, about ~150 m from my house, ~1 km to nearest neighbor; i use nitrile gloves, goggles, rubber boots, there was a nice breeze going so i wasn`t too worried about the fumes. air temperature about 15-20 c...

i put few pieces of ram, pci fingers and some other trinkets into a small glass jar (0.5 l) and covered them with my acid (~0.15 l), reaction was slow to begin but after vigorous stirring with glass rod (piece of mirror from laser printer) the infamous BRFC (or in my case little brown fumes) appeared and acid in the jar became green... fumes quickly dispersed in the wind so it seemed very safe, i eaven did a quick walk-by down-wind to test the smell, and i think i smelled a faint whiff of chemical odor. still i felt pretty safe doing all that...

But here comes the confusing part:

I decided to try some acid on my skin, to test potential burns... now MSDS says "SkinContact: Corrosive! Can cause redness, pain, and severe skin burns. Concentrated solutions cause deep ulcers and stain skin a yellow or yellow-brown color."