Ceramic cpu gold caps

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jhr

Hi guys.Is there any good way to process the gold lids from ceramic cpu.Im not sure if i can just put it into ar like that.Or must i first get rid of the base metal.I think if i use the cell it would be better.Im not sure which procces i must use on it

Caveat: I'm a beginner, but have done a number of small experiments now.

From my experience / experiments, getting rid of a lot of base metal for a small amount of gold is a bad idea. I believe you want to investigate a sulfuric cell or one of the gold leach solutions as a way to recover the gold and leaving the base metal behind. Obviously this information is very dependent on the ratio of gold to base-metal and what type of base metal it is.

I have mentioned it in the past.
A cold, dilute nitric leach will strip the gold plating from those Kovar lids in few days.
It will not eat the kovar nor the gold, but it will take the nickel between them.

The problem with those gold plated lids is that most all are attached with an 80/20, gold/tin braze and that's where the majority of the value is. I've never tried Sam's method of cold dilute HNO3 to dissolve the nickel. It sounds feasible for the gold plate but I have doubts about the braze. What's your experience with that, Sam.

Chris,

It usually takes the nickel under the brazed area as well. There are some spots on the braze line that resist the attack.
I believe it is due to the braze passing through the nickel layer and binding to the kovar base.