I added too much nitric acid. Everything went into solution

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Andyhaynes

I am a newb for sure. I added too much nitric acid to the aqua Regia. Everything went into solution. It created a very dark liquid. I added a little sulfuric acid to try to get the silver and lead out and filtered it out. I added more fingers until I saw some of the gold leaf floating. I assumed I had added enough material in solution. I then filtered out the remaining materials. And added SMB and left it for several days. The liquid is green and what I think is silver chloride crystals on the bottom. I checked the solution before adding smb with stanous chloride and it showed gold. After smb I’m not getting any sign. Can anyone help?

Thanks
Andy

Andyhaynes said:
I am a newb for sure. I added too much nitric acid to the aqua Regia. Everything went into solution.
Well, that's the idea with aqua regia. It puts everything into solution. Why do you say you added too much nitric (you may have)? But is it because it put everything into solution? If that's not what you wanted to happen, what were you trying to do?

It created a very dark liquid. I added a little sulfuric acid to try to get the silver and lead out and filtered it out.
We use sulfuric acid to precipitate lead. We dilute aqua regia to precipitate any silver that might be in solution.

I added more fingers until I saw some of the gold leaf floating. I assumed I had added enough material in solution.
Was that your starting material for this batch? Fingers in aqua regia?

I then filtered out the remaining materials. And added SMB and left it for several days. The liquid is green and what I think is silver chloride crystals on the bottom. I checked the solution before adding smb with stanous chloride and it showed gold. After smb I’m not getting any sign.