How to part gold from metallic iron??

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boarteats

I collected magnetite and smelted iron from it. Unexpectedly, ended up with a metal bead containing iron, gold, copper (I think), other. Did a streak test to convince myself that I actually had some gold. Here’s what I’m seeing: iron (starting to oxidize), gold, a metal that is oxidizing to a really nice blue color (think this might be copper), and some other silver malleable metal that does not appear to be oxidizing.

I’m not a gold prospector, so this is new to me. Would appreciate some tips/reference material for parting and identifying the non iron metals that I appear to have. Thanks in advance.

Hi , welcome to the forum.
Why do you think there is gold in your metal, did you test it?
If not, try a stannos test, it is simple.
Write " stannous test" in " search" in the top at these window.

Hi canedane!

Good bet that it’s gold: soft, yellow metal that is not oxidizing and leaves a shiny gold streak on a streak plate. Also, went back to my batch of black sands. Took a closer look with loop. Could see flour gold along with the expected pyrite, etc.

You'd be better served removing, or at least concentrating, the gold before smelting everything together. I'm going to move this thread to the Prospecting, Mining, Ore Concentrates & Geochemical section of the forum so those who deal with black sands will be more likely to see it.

Dave

Oye vey. I really want advise on how to part gold from base metal like iron after they’ve already been smelted and are co mingled in one mass. This was the original question.

I can think of three possible ways.

1. Dissolve the iron in hydrochloric acid or sulfuric acid, creates a lot of waste.

or