Gold leaf recovery

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RustyK

I have a good amount of 23.5 K gold leaf to recover.
Some of the leaf is in pure leaf scrap, the rest is mixed with paint/gold size.
We use the gold leaf to gild letters on gravestones which we make. We usually have a painted enamel undercoat prior to putting the gold leaf on with a size. We then scrape the excess leaf which can be a good amount after a year or so.

I have bought a small electric furnace and some borax as a flux.

I was wondering should I burn off the paint first and will this leave behind a pure enough gold to melt or should I use any any chemicals at this stage with the purity being 23.5K

I am new to this and was wondering if any one can offer advice.

Thanks in advance.
K

It depends on your ultimate goal.

If you just want a melted chunck of gold to either sell or put away for the future, and you don't really care about the final quality of the gold, you can melt it. But you won't know the final purity, so to some extent, you'll have to depend on the buyer to be able to determine the value and, hopefully, pay you fairly.

One of the reasons many of our members refine their gold is that at the end of the process, they know what they have. When done correctly, they know their gold is at least 99% pure, so if the buyer tries to tell them it's less, they know to walk away.

Gold leaf would be fairly easy to refine, but any refining is still hazardous. You'll have to devote some time to learning how to do it right. Once you melt it, it's a little more difficult because you've greatly decreased the surface area, so the same acids would not work as quickly.

An option is to have someone here "toll" refine it for you. They'll refine it, retain a percentage for their work, then melt the remainder into a nice, shiny button of gold for you.