Pioneer Trail Metal Detector-PLEASE HELP!!!

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boxerboy209

Good afternoon everybody. I was wondering if somebody would be able to offer me some assitance. I am very new to this hobby so please be patient... The metal detector I'm using has 3 modes, VLF, TR1, and TR2. Also an analog meter for ferros/ non-ferrous metals. The detector will only sound off non-ferrous hits. The environment that I am using an old river bed that hasnt been mined since the 80's. Now the problem that I keep running into is that I just cannot tell the difference in the tones between trash and gold. And I've tried with the headphones on and off!! Now in the manual to the detector it clearly states that "the detector will sound a louder tone for the most valuable metal." That means gold right? If somebody would be so kind to offer me a lil friendly insight to this problem I am having. Its beginning to get very frustrating! Ha ha....
Thanks

Boxerboy209 said:
Good afternoon everybody. I was wondering if somebody would be able to offer me some assitance. I am very new to this hobby so please be patient... The metal detector I'm using has 3 modes, VLF, TR1, and TR2. Also an analog meter for ferros/ non-ferrous metals. The detector will only sound off non-ferrous hits. The environment that I am using an old river bed that hasnt been mined since the 80's. Now the problem that I keep running into is that I just cannot tell the difference in the tones between trash and gold. And I've tried with the headphones on and off!! Now in the manual to the detector it clearly states that "the detector will sound a louder tone for the most valuable metal." That means gold right? If somebody would be so kind to offer me a lil friendly insight to this problem I am having. Its beginning to get very frustrating! Ha ha....
Thanks