Please help

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newbie17022

Hi. I’m new to this. I am so confused. Nothing seems to be coming out right. Please help.
This is the situation... My aqua regia solution is very dark green with a tinge of a golden neon yellow hue. It’s been sitting for about a week. No more reaction. It has tiny pieces of gold still floating. I’ve added more nitric acid and hydrochloric acid, nothing happens. Stannous is negative. I’m my confusion I added SMB and nothing has separated. What am I doing wrong? Is the process completely screwed up now? A total loss? Please help. I’ll try to attach a photo. I’d be willing to talk on the phone if it would be easier.

Attachments

• E144843A-4972-4106-B8E9-90FED50B59B9.jpeg
    E144843A-4972-4106-B8E9-90FED50B59B9.jpeg
    2.4 MB · Views: 123
  • C0D148D2-1202-4BE8-9FF0-BA9C6FCCB0B0.jpeg
    C0D148D2-1202-4BE8-9FF0-BA9C6FCCB0B0.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 123
THE Dark green solution with a tinge of a golden neon yellow hue.

The dark green indicate lots of base metals like copper in solution, this indicates you were using aqua regia on base metals which may have had some gold, gold in the solution will normally show a yellow ring about the surface where the surface ring meets the glass.
Using aqua regia the gold should be as free from base metals as possible, the more trash in -more trash out, too much trash or base metals just complicate matters.

If all of the metals were not dissolved on the scrap, the base metals could have cemented out the dissolved gold.