hello to all

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rob22

Hi all,
my name is rob,
i have been viewing this site,(doing searches through google)for a couple of years now,and felt it time to join .

i work in the scrap metal industry in the uk,and i have access to quite large quantities of various scrap.

primarily,i confine myself to collecting sterling silver cutlery,and electronic scrap,
however,on a daily basis,i come across large quantities of plated silverware.
i tend to ignore anything marked nickle silver as i believe it has no silver content despite its name.

Through internet searches and closely inspecting items i have a basic working knowledge of plated items.
i have carried out several experiments using nitric acid on sterling silver cutlery,and on older electric fuse boxes,where the contacts are silver , i have dropped the silver out of solution using copper busbar,
washed the resulting powder until clear,and with borax,have accumulated around 1.5 killos of silver.
I have around another kilo of items waiting to process.

I feel it is now time to move on to plated silverware,this i can readily buy from my employer,to around one ton per year.(yes one ton)
After deplating the items will be resold to my employer.

I have also accumulated around 40 kilos of trimmed fingers from memory sims,
around 10 killos of black memory chips mixed with soldered board chips(not cpus)
i also have around 150 main cpus ranging from the better quality older ones to the lesser quality newer ones.
On average i strip 10 pc units per week at work,i also save printer cartridges,mobile phone pcbs,screen touchpads,etc etc .
i have around 150 gold plated bath and sink taps stored,

All the required ppe(personel protection equipment)i need i allready have,