GRF Search!

Glucose Test Strips

<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post November 29th, 2012, 11:53 pm

Glucose Test Strips

I have about 200 hundred that is gold and my wife has about 300 hundred that is silver. Can someone tell about how will it to get 1 gram of gold? The one that looks silver are they silver? And how do you think will it take to get 1 gram.
<<

mdghamon

Member

Posts: 30

Joined: November 21st, 2011, 10:49 pm

Post December 1st, 2012, 1:41 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Yield of 10 gold strips is @ .09 grams, silver is a slight bit less but they are silver. Keep saving and make sure you use a nitric bath to remove any organic matter first. It will also act to dissolve the silver for cementing. Very good luck with the process. Mike
<<

Pantherlikher

Active Member

Posts: 732

Joined: September 30th, 2012, 10:44 pm

Location: Denver, Pennsylvania U.S.A.

Post December 1st, 2012, 2:52 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

It's amazing what you find at the local $1.00 lot box auctions.
I've found almost 1 set of diabetese testing kits / week. The electronic tester board looks alot like cell phone boards with lots of gold spots and traces.
I need to read more as I thought only sulphuric acid disolved organics and Nitric was metals? Of course the test strips are plastic of some kind so need to be cut out as much as possible.
<<

mdghamon

Member

Posts: 30

Joined: November 21st, 2011, 10:49 pm

Post December 5th, 2012, 1:25 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Using Nitric as the first step is done with the acid heated to about 150 F. Found it to be useful in destroying any possible viral/bacterial contamination which may be present. The second step is to incinerate in a covered container or run through a paper shredder to expose as much surface area as you can. Makes the dissolve with follow on baths much faster and complete.
<<

hendershotgena

Member

Posts: 3

Joined: November 17th, 2012, 7:05 am

Post December 7th, 2012, 4:50 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

I have so many glucose test strips. They are close to experation date. Do all strips have gold or silver in them?
<<

mdghamon

Member

Posts: 30

Joined: November 21st, 2011, 10:49 pm

Post December 8th, 2012, 10:57 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Take a close look at them. Gold will be very obvious on both ends of the gold ones. Silver is on almost all of the others, including the disc type and appears as black traces. Incineration is a helpful step to get rid of the plastic film. Good luck
<<

hendershotgena

Member

Posts: 3

Joined: November 17th, 2012, 7:05 am

Post December 10th, 2012, 10:03 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Thanks!
<<

madmax

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: November 29th, 2012, 5:19 am

Post December 28th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

mdghamon wrote:Yield of 10 gold strips is @ .09 grams, silver is a slight bit less but they are silver. Keep saving and make sure you use a nitric bath to remove any organic matter first. It will also act to dissolve the silver for cementing. Very good luck with the process. Mike

Not trying to be smart but that seems to be pretty high. If my maths is correct it would only take 400 strips to give you 36 grams.
Is that 24k or lower.
I've got around 500 of the little buggers, tried soaking in hot soapy water for 2 days. Ended up peeling the top layer off by hand, then tried boiling them in plain water.
Still no result.
Don't have any acids or such yet so basically just hunter gathering bits and pieces.
<<

Auful

User avatar

Active Member

Posts: 122

Joined: November 19th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Location: Pacific NW

Post December 28th, 2012, 10:36 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

madmax wrote:
mdghamon wrote:Yield of 10 gold strips is @ .09 grams, silver is a slight bit less but they are silver. Keep saving and make sure you use a nitric bath to remove any organic matter first. It will also act to dissolve the silver for cementing. Very good luck with the process. Mike

Not trying to be smart but that seems to be pretty high. If my maths is correct it would only take 400 strips to give you 36 grams.
Is that 24k or lower.
I've got around 500 of the little buggers, tried soaking in hot soapy water for 2 days. Ended up peeling the top layer off by hand, then tried boiling them in plain water.
Still no result.
Don't have any acids or such yet so basically just hunter gathering bits and pieces.


10 gold strips yielding .09 grams = .09g gold/10 strips = .009 gram gold per strip. 400 * .009 = 3.6 not 36, right?
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post December 28th, 2012, 10:47 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Auful wrote:
madmax wrote:
mdghamon wrote:Yield of 10 gold strips is @ .09 grams, silver is a slight bit less but they are silver. Keep saving and make sure you use a nitric bath to remove any organic matter first. It will also act to dissolve the silver for cementing. Very good luck with the process. Mike

Not trying to be smart but that seems to be pretty high. If my maths is correct it would only take 400 strips to give you 36 grams.
Is that 24k or lower.
I've got around 500 of the little buggers, tried soaking in hot soapy water for 2 days. Ended up peeling the top layer off by hand, then tried boiling them in plain water.
Still no result.
Don't have any acids or such yet so basically just hunter gathering bits and pieces.


10 gold strips yielding .09 grams = .09g gold/10 strips = .009 gram gold per strip. 400 * .009 = 3.6 not 36, right?

Your number is right about 3500 strips would be about 32 grams of gold. There no base metal to deal with.

Jack
<<

madmax

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: November 29th, 2012, 5:19 am

Post December 29th, 2012, 7:34 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Yep thats what happens when you try doing several things at once when tired lol.
Now it makes sense.
Any how will still keep them and play around.
<<

mdghamon

Member

Posts: 30

Joined: November 21st, 2011, 10:49 pm

Post December 30th, 2012, 10:11 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Max, you can heat the gold strips with a propanne torch or even a cigarette lighter to shrivel them. this will release the glue in seconds rather than hours. The key, as Jack has noted is to accumulate as much as possible and do your preliminary processing as you can. Just put all of it aside until you can get the acids you need. PM me if you have any questions or problems with your process. Mike
<<

madmax

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: November 29th, 2012, 5:19 am

Post December 30th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

mdghamon wrote:Max, you can heat the gold strips with a propanne torch or even a cigarette lighter to shrivel them. this will release the glue in seconds rather than hours. The key, as Jack has noted is to accumulate as much as possible and do your preliminary processing as you can. Just put all of it aside until you can get the acids you need. PM me if you have any questions or problems with your process. Mike

Thanks Mike, I'm gathering all the bits and pieces I can at the moment.
Waiting on a couple of crucibles I ordered.
Got the family and a couple of friends saving their test strips for me so hopefully can get a steady supply.
Just wanting to try little things to see how easy or hard it is.
Also busting to get a little nugget :lol:
<<

Palladium

User avatar

Active Member

Posts: 4571

Joined: January 17th, 2008, 1:54 am

Location: USA

Post December 30th, 2012, 11:03 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

If you search the forum i posted a thread on processing sim cards with sodium hydroxide that will work for this i think.
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits. Albert Einstein
1. Refining Precious Metal Wastes C.M. Hoke http://tinyurl.com/mfnyhs
(REV) (Free Download)
2. Get the (FREE) Gold Refining Forum Handbook VOL 1 here >> http://tinyurl.com/nyutnp
3. Get the (FREE) Gold Refining Forum Handbook VOL 2 (Final) here >> http://tinyurl.com/y9w5y73
4. Chemistry Handbooks Here (FREE) >> http://tinyurl.com/macoro9
ALL FREE-----ALL THE TIME
<<

Auful

User avatar

Active Member

Posts: 122

Joined: November 19th, 2012, 8:14 pm

Location: Pacific NW

Post December 30th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Has anybody recovered and refined gold from the INR (coagcheck) test strips? i am collecting them now, but don't have enough to test yield. They look to have more gold than the glucose strips, but perhaps looks are deceiving in this case?
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post January 12th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

I'm up to 700 gold strip when I get 1000 I will start to process them

Here is what I think I need to do.
1. Take Muriatic Acid 32% (HCL) and Clorox Regular Bleach to process the gold
2. Then filter out the junk.
3. Take Sodium Meta Bisulfite (SMB) to drop the gold.
4. Then dry to power.
5. Melt the power to a button.

Do any other have any other idea?
<<

etack

User avatar

Active Member

Posts: 1124

Joined: November 8th, 2008, 11:41 pm

Location: Dayton, Ohio

Post January 12th, 2013, 12:37 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

The test strips that I've seen have a plastic coating/lamination. you will need to remove this with fire/heat. Also try to calculate the Sq,In of 1000 strips and see if a 20-10 micro inches its worth the time or if you will need more to see gold from them. 20-10 micro inches might be the upper limit on thees cause there not in a wear spot.

Eric

What does it cost for 1000 strips?
As Harold says "Read Hoke be enlightened"

Will buy your tantalum capacitors send a PM for price buy the pound.

viewtopic.php?f=59&t=15909

A simple search of the forum would have given you the answers without posting.
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post January 12th, 2013, 3:45 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Hi etack,

I have remove all I can and all I see now is gold on one side with a little glue. Should I remove the glue? Do I need to change anything what I wrote how to process them? There no base metal to deal with as I can see. I can say 108 strips is about 36 sq. inch.

The strips cost me $0.00 they are free. My brother, my friends and me use Accu-Chek strips. My wife strips are TrueTest.

Jack
<<

madmax

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: November 29th, 2012, 5:19 am

Post January 13th, 2013, 2:12 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

I'm in the middle of trying to process around 500 strips. It's been a bugger trying to remove the glue.
The strips are simple enough a plastic base strip layer of gold glue and a cover strip.
I tried sitting in hot water to remove the glue.
Then I tried boiling in Sodium Hydroxide the gold did come of but the glue turned to a jelly like substance and clogs the filters with the gold.
Did try melting a couple they ignited and burnt down to a black sticky lump with a tiny piece of gold.
I even peeled the top layer off of them while I sat here reading the forum to see if it helped, very tedious job and hard on arthritic fingers and certainly not viable with large batches.
I know I have lost some values, but I figure this is a learning exercise and practise will make better.
Costwise I had to buy the strips to watch my sugar levels as the Doctor told me I was pre diabetic. As such I was not able to get them on the PBBS and had to pay around $60 a box of 100.
Another thing to bear in mind is with the ACCU-CHEK strips is a coded chip that looks like it contains gold as well.
Hope my limited experiences help others and we can find an easy way to process these little things.
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post January 13th, 2013, 1:26 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

madmax wrote:I'm in the middle of trying to process around 500 strips. It's been a bugger trying to remove the glue.
The strips are simple enough a plastic base strip layer of gold glue and a cover strip.
I tried sitting in hot water to remove the glue.
Then I tried boiling in Sodium Hydroxide the gold did come of but the glue turned to a jelly like substance and clogs the filters with the gold.
Did try melting a couple they ignited and burnt down to a black sticky lump with a tiny piece of gold.
I even peeled the top layer off of them while I sat here reading the forum to see if it helped, very tedious job and hard on arthritic fingers and certainly not viable with large batches.
I know I have lost some values, but I figure this is a learning exercise and practise will make better.
Costwise I had to buy the strips to watch my sugar levels as the Doctor told me I was pre diabetic. As such I was not able to get them on the PBBS and had to pay around $60 a box of 100.
Another thing to bear in mind is with the ACCU-CHEK strips is a coded chip that looks like it contains gold as well.
Hope my limited experiences help others and we can find an easy way to process these little things.

How many strips did you melt down? And how big was it?
<<

madmax

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: November 29th, 2012, 5:19 am

Post January 13th, 2013, 8:05 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

It was only 2 strips just to see how they behaved and the piece of gold was tiny. Not even sure I managed to pick it up when I added the bits to the other stuff.
<<

madmax

Member

Posts: 17

Joined: November 29th, 2012, 5:19 am

Post January 18th, 2013, 8:52 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

One of the filters I used, You can see the gold flakes.
Tried to incinerate the paper but was still damp the glue clumped up.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post February 20th, 2013, 8:01 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

I wish the weather would get better so I can check the yields on the Glucose Test Strips. There is some other thing I want to check yield on.

Jack
<<

mdghamon

Member

Posts: 30

Joined: November 21st, 2011, 10:49 pm

Post February 22nd, 2013, 4:43 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Give it a few weeks Jack, the weather will get better. I'm waiting as well. Have almost 10000 Accu checks to do and more mixed silver pieces than I can count.
Keep safe. Mike
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post February 22nd, 2013, 11:32 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Right now I have a total of 1025 of the 2 type I have. They are 50/50 of each type I have. And I can't wait for the weather to get better.

Jack
<<

testerman

Post February 24th, 2013, 3:17 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

If possible, can any of you post pictures of the test strips so others can know what they look like?

Since there are different types, seeing them would make the world of difference in understanding what to save once we come across them. We may even know people who use them, and seeing images of them may remind us of someone we know where we can get them from.

Kevin
<<

Marcel

User avatar

Active Member

Posts: 418

Joined: February 18th, 2012, 1:34 pm

Location: Europe/Germany

Post February 24th, 2013, 3:48 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

I am currently collecting the ones from my wife - she is expecting and has to test therefore.
They look like palladium plated to me. Can this be the case? Need to find my testpen...
The brand name is : BAYER "Contour next".
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Beginners guide to scraping
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BMTU8GY
<<

testerman

Post February 25th, 2013, 11:17 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

Marcel, thanks for the picture. I now have a better understanding of what some of them look like.

While looking and the picture, the part that is grey in color, and the other end appears to be where the blood is dropped on for testing, doesn't that mean that those/all strips have an inner connection (connecting from one end to the other, making the strips a two-piece strip, with more values inside of them (a strip at least), and not just on the surface that is exposed?

Kevin
<<

mikeinkaty

Active Member

Posts: 408

Joined: November 30th, 2012, 2:39 pm

Post February 28th, 2013, 2:37 am

Re: Glucose Test Strips

If you pull the plastic covering back the entire strip has a gold plated circuit.

How many of those strips does it take to make 1 gram of gold?

Mike
<<

jmdlcar

Active Member

Posts: 662

Joined: July 19th, 2011, 10:31 pm

Location: Ohio

Post February 28th, 2013, 2:30 pm

Re: Glucose Test Strips

mikeinkaty wrote:If you pull the plastic covering back the entire strip has a gold plated circuit.

How many of those strips does it take to make 1 gram of gold?

Mike

Mike,

I have over 1000 gold strips so far. One strip has 0.009 of gold so it should take about 111 strips to get 1 gram of gold that my understanding. I will know for sure when I refine mind as soon as the weather gets better. I'm going to do 222 strips at a time to check the yield on. I have 2 type of strips to check. If I don't get these yields then anything is better then not trying at all.

I also have 700 silver strips I will check so day when I get Nitric Acid. I hope to get more silver strips. When people give them to me I don't turn any kinds of strips down.

The picture above looks like silver to me. If he would remove the plastic covering to see how much is there.

Thanks
Jack
Next

Return to General Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

[Most Recent Quotes from www.kitco.com]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forums/DivisionCore.