To Inquart or Not to Inquart

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RickRag

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and have a question or three. First, a little background. I'm a dentist who has been practicing for over 40 years. I majored in Chemistry and Math in undergrad but it was mostly organic/biochem so my inorganic knowledge is rusty. I have read Hokes book three times now and perused the dental scrap topics available on this forum. A lot of good info here and I soaked it up like a sponge.

I have about 19 ounces of dental scrap that I have accumulated over the years, most of which is of unknown composition. My intent is to recover the precious metal present, Au, Pd and Pt. Ag, although present, isn't likely to be worth much, so its recovery is optional.

The entire lot likely is mostly yellow and white gold alloy used in major dental restorations. Also, there is likely to be some non-precious and semi-precious metal substrate as well, as these alloys were used commonly in the 80's and 90's. All obvious silver, amalgam, chrome-cobalt and other base metals have been physically removed. The scrap has been pickled and no ferrous metals or dental cements, tooth fragments, etc. are present. I have not attempted to separate the rigid non-precious/semi-precious metals from the more ductile pieces using physical pounding as there are literally hundreds of pieces and it likely would take days. I'm hoping there is an easier way.