Precipitation Difficulty

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Woodard711

Hello, I'm relatively new to gold recovery and after spending months collecting DATA I have been working on my process.
To deplate computer scrap I use 2 parts A/P (1L HCLO2 + 200ML h202) and 1 Part Acetic Acid I created from concentrated vinegar. This has been very successful, completely stripping circuit boards within 48 hours in most cases.
My Aqua Regia mixture is 200ML HCLO2 and 10-15ml Bleach. I then heat the mixture up to a light boil for about 30 minutes, than allow to sit for 2-3 hours. So far I've had few issues with dissolving.
Precipating has been touch and go for me, but I'm starting to get more and more dark brown/blackish powder which looks a lot like the product I'm supposed to have. I use 2-3 TBSP of SMB mixed in about 200ML of water and it seems to be working. I have yet to smelt any of the brown powders because I'm unsure of the smelting process.
Here is my problem, last night I extracted a black powder that turned into a blue glass-like substance with black chunks through it when I attempted to smelt it. What on earth did I create?
My first smelt was a poor attempt with Map Gas. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

I have no idea of what you created but it doesn't sound like gold.

What you are calling aqua regia is not aqua regia.

With that set of chemicals I have no clue of what you have created. Do you have a problem getting HCl?

Göran

I assume you tried to melt the powder ? Smelting being a high-heat chemical reaction.

What was the computer scrap and how much of it was there ? When you finished with the AP part, what did you have? Did you have Gold foils ? How much ?

Boiling aqua regia is not necessary and not a good idea.