Smelting problem

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chirou

Hello newbie here, i got myself some butane torches they shoult get up to 1300 degrees celcius and melt my gold powder but it seems they don't get that high temperature. Anybody know what can i do to increase temperature? Already spent a lot of money for those and now i'm trying to figure out how to make them reach that temperature. Maybe building up a little furnace or something and then using butane torch will work? After few different tries i'm out of ideas what to do it looks like some gold smelted but it refuses to smelt corectly and join into one bead it more resembles some little nuggets.

The problem with failure to melt gold is often heat loss. Insulate the melting dish and it will work a lot better. The size of the torch would also matter, it's not only the temperature that decides if you can melt something.

Maybe you should show a picture of the melting dish and torch you are using. As well as your setup, that would make it easier to help you.

Göran

i will have to go to my garage to make one, but the torch i'm using is simple butane torch like shown on few YT videos, could there also be a possibility that i added too less of the flux ? i got myself stuff like that posted below. i will have night shifts in 2 days maybe i'll build something like a little furnace isolate it with some clay etc and try again. The worse scenario i will just have to buy better torch. I also tried using 2 torches, everything was glowing red, some of gold lets say melted a bit cause it came together in few limps and flux was bubbling a bit but still i don't think it was enoght. Or maybe really i added to less flux (as flux i use Baking soda + borax)

Attachments

• 5425c89a408c954d270909c83113.jpg
    5425c89a408c954d270909c83113.jpg
    167.3 KB · Views: 591