Evaporation

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tylerb752

This is my first attempt at evaporating AR down to denox. Ive read to turn it into a syrup but how thick should this syrup be? Ive evaporated 8 cups down to 1 2/3 cup. When i swirl it sticks to the side of the container briefly. Should it be the consistency of hot syrup or cold syrup? Im evaporating at about 80C. Ive read if you take it to far crust will form and i dont want that. Thanks for any help.

Reducing the volume of the dilute yellow solution through evaporation you will notice the solution turns to a reddish-orange gold chloride solution, of highly concentrated gold, you do not need to reduce it to salts, but concentrate the solution to a thicker solution, while the solution is still hot adding acid HCl to the solution will dilute it with the water involved in the acid, the acid will also reform nitric from any metal nitrate salts, which will decompose in the hot and concentrated solution to NOx gases (the deadly red cloud of gases), continuing heat to evaporate off the added acid (water) and reconcentrate the solution add acid again, evaporate and add acid for the third time and watch for gases as you heat the solution.

Normally by the third cycle of adding the acid and evaporation cycle, you will no longer see the red cloud of NOx gases.

sulfuric in the solution helps to precipitate lead, it also can help in the de-NOx-ing process to remove acids and gases that are more volatile than sulfuric acid is, it can also assist in helping you from cooking the metal salts too dry if you forget and evaporate the solution down too far...