Looking for Better collection techniques for 3000g gold filled

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheRealGoldmember

Hello all, this is my first post even tho I've silently enjoyed and appreciated everyone who has asked a question and more importantly the elders who have helped us all get to where we are now...I've been refining now for a few years and have tweaked it to where it works nicely for me. After a single precipitation I've with FeSo4 a fire assay of 987 and if a second with smb been able to achieve .9999... My question is this, I just finished 1000grams of gold pocket watches for a man who owns a shop and just was tasked with a bag just shy of 3000grams of gold filled everything you can imagine from bulovas - pens and everthing in between in various increments of gold content.. I usually nitric treat with N03 and then collect and finished the process like normal but for the finite pieces floating in the base metal nitric solution takes a very long time using every filtration method I can think of using a no 3 filter and medium membrane vaccum filter.. they're might not be an easier or faster method without letting more valuables pass thru by using a larger pore filtering apparatus.....
Thanks for yalls time and for any insight offered .
~ ACE ~

To much junk in there to vacuum filter unless you have a large Buchner Funnel with a large surface area.

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmZgunOWiSo[/youtube]

Nice video, The name redneck refining is just the cat's meow, I enjoyed watching it with coffee this morning, I learn something every day, today besides learning some tricks on filtering, I learned how to pet a pussy cat backarrds.

Took my mind off the forest fire roaring through the woods heading towards my home.

Thanks again, I always enjoy your informative videos.