Newbie here.. can you take advantage of "phase changing

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AuMINIMayhem

Hey everyone, I'm new to the gold recovery thing. Hell "the fever" bit me like a rabid dog! I stumbled on it quite by accident and have been playing around with the scrap I have, just trying out very basic techniques. It's been really hard to find any kind of info that is worth it's weight in..ahem, you know what I mean. Kudos for the awesome sight! I've read just about every post!

After reading, I feel comfortable enough to ask if a theory I have would be possible. Although I know in actual application this may not be the most feasible method, I wonder why I have yet to be able to find any accounts of someone trying it. Let me back up a bit and give you my "eureka moment" of a back story..LOL!

I found a good stash of cheap (or so I thought) plated jewelry. About ten pounds of it. I wasn't quite sure what to do with it, so I started looking into gold recovery, then, WHAM!.. gold fever! I wound up purchasing a few things on Ebay (crucibles, graphite ingot molds, a kiln). While I've been waiting for the kiln to arrive I started playing with different torches (propane, then MAPP, then MAPP with an Oxy can attached), just to kind of get the feel of how to handle stuff, how to heat things evenly, how to NOT injure myself as I'm so prone to doing, etc. Basically, just to practice (ok, alright.. you got me... I'm playing with my toys! LOL!)

The other day I had a very interesting thing happen and then I started thinking (if only you knew how dangerous it is when the words "I was thinking" come out.. friends, family, neighbors and pets all shudder).