SMB or Baking Soda???

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joekbit

from Joe

Hello all, I am new to this but as the topic says SMB or Backing soda? I can remember reading that SMB does not actually drop the gold, the sodium bicarbonate is dropping the gold. In other words, when you add SMB to a aqueous solution it changes to sodium bicarbonate and that is actually what drops the gold? Note the question mark.

If this is true why use SMB to start with? Why not just get some backing soda from the grocery store?

Like I said I am new to this. I had a small amount of scrap, just home left overs E Scrap. Long story short, I had been processing it a bit here and there. Reached the stage of gold(3), diluted it added some backing soda and in a very short time my liquid was clear and I now have what looks like it may be Max 1grm of precipitated gold sitting in the bottom of my jar.

Back to the question, is there a deeper reason why most everyone and everything I see on dropping gold they use SMB?

Thanks I look forward to the comments and feed back.

Oh 1 other question, how do I set this up to follow my own posts?

WHAT!!!!!!!!

SMB creates SO2 That is what drops your gold. Please read more then read it again. If you did this your ignorance on this subject is showing. You will not only reduce your gold but you will also reduce all the other base metals in your solution too.

You will have a powdered form of what you started with.

Eric

Baking soda is erroneously used by beginners in waste treatment, or various PH adjustments, because it runs at high costs and creates hazardous risks as it will precipitate heavy metals' carbonates and hydroxides. I'm curious about the source.