Copperas storage

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MarcoP

I've read many time about the making and storage of copperas, this time I've bought some and I wanted to store it properly in a PTFE container with double lid under 96% sulfuric acid but I don't know if this is what it's supposed to look like.
From a nice green it changed to a pale gray with shades of dark gray. I'm a bit confused now...

Attachments

• WP_20141110_16_04_46_Pro.jpg
    WP_20141110_16_04_46_Pro.jpg
    526 KB · Views: 304
Take some and dissolve in water to see if it makes a green solution.
I believe that the sulfuric acid pulled all the water from the hydrated copperas and turned it into anhydrous copperas.

The temperature rise is the hint.

I have no experience of copperas but I believe that you shouldn't use concentrated sulfuric acid.

Göran

Thank you Göran, I've saturated 25ml, the temperature raised to 45C and the colour is a very very pale green.

In each and every post I've read 10% sulfuric acid was used to make copperas but not percentage was given for storage so I understood it had to be concentrated. If this turns out to be a mistake how do I properly dispose of it or how do I fix the error?
I still have plenty of copperas but fixing the mistake could get me some knowledge.

It's been a long time since I used copperas to drop gold. I don't remember exactly how I did it but I probably followed the instructions in the Hoke book (p. 46). She says that 1 pound will drop about 2.5 oz of gold. Dissolve fresh green copperas in water - about 1 pound per quart of water. Add a little HCl to make the solution a clear green.

I see nothing in there about using sulfuric.

goldsilverpro said: