Sourcing Nitric Acid in the UK - any alternatives?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stantona1978

Hi all,

I am new here and this my first post. Great forum by the way.

I live in the UK, and I am just starting out in the Gold refining hobby. I've sourced and ordered Muriatic Acid, Sodium Metabisulphite, Urea and distilled water. The trouble is getting hold of Nitric Acid. The reason is, here in the UK, the government has restricted the sale of Nitric Acid to members of the public. Due to the possibility of making explosives with it.

In order to obtain it for personal use, you need to get a licence from the government home office costing £40 UK sterling pounds. (61 Dollars in todays exchange rate). My question is, are there any alternatives for me to use instead of Nitric acid? If so, any suggestions please? I've searched the forum looking for people in the same situation, but i cannot find the answers.

Do I have to bite the bullet and obtain a licence from these money grabbing bureaucrats?
Any advice would be very much appreciated.

unfortunately you are not alone.
A good number of the chemicals you will need to refine have been put on a high shelf,with out them your options are very limited.
Even trying to use off the shelf alternative's will land you in trouble as they are trying to lump every thing under "the manufacture of prohibited substances."Big Big problem as like most bureaucracy they will not distinguish between offenders.
Not only do you need to apply for the licence but you will have to prove you will be safe to handle them and will not pass them on.
next year even possession will be a criminal offence .
this covers the hole of europe.
It is my understanding that they will actively look for reasons to deny a licence when ever they can.
I have not heard of any one who has obtained one as of yet either.