Disolving Borax after melting

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BikerBudgie

Hi all, my first post

firstly great forum, I have 'lurked' for many years but this is my first time registering and posting. I have worked in various scrap buying operations for the past 8 years but have rarely got involved in the actual refining other than 2 days in an AR lab recovering stones set in jewellery.

This should be a fairly simple question ( I hope) i have a barrel full of 'slag' predominantly Borax decahydrate that has been melted with carat level gold and silver. I know some metal is held in there and in the past i have remelted it adding sodium nitrate or potassium nitrate to retrieve as much as possible before sending it away for final refining. I was wondering if there was an easier method? after-all powdered borax will dissolve in hot water, how hard can it be to separate the 2 after combining? (probably very lol)

your Help appreciated
BB

Hi and welcome!

10% sulfuric acid and little heat will do the job just fine, you could also break the borax slag to speed up the process.

Marco

When you melt borax decahydrate the water is lost, so what you now have is anhydrous borax.

I agree with MarcoP, crush fine and treat with sulfuric acid.

Göran

MarcoP said:
Hi and welcome!

10% sulfuric acid and little heat will do the job just fine, you could also break the borax slag to speed up the process.

Marco

Thank you both for swift replies, MarcoP you mention a little heat - are we talking hot plate or furnace?

I also had an idea, instead of using Aqua Regia for diamond removal from gold/silver mixed scrap would melting it up and then treating the 'flux' to your method return stones too? do diamonds get damaged at 1000 deg C? it maybe a cheaper way for tiny 1 point stone clusters en masse