Totally Ignorant Throwing Myself on the Mercy of the Forum

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
guys.
I am so not a chemist. I am not a scientist. I am an awful liberal arts major. BUT I've come into possession like 70 grams of reclaimed gold pins from inside cellphones (I think). It was a parting gift from a dickhead boyfriend. THUS I really cant wait to turn this shit into gold and profit, get something out of the mess. What I have read: I need a filtration system (200ish on amazon?) and some kind of acid. I don't know where to get this acid, I am terrified to work with acid. I don't know if thats even correct or if thats the best way to do it. SO if one of your guys would take pity on me and walk me thru this or, better yet, if you're in SoCal and you can just, like, do it for me, I'd reward? Baked goods? Idk. I keep looking at this gold just sitting and it's driving me nuts so here I am.
Thanks in advance

Best advice, sell it on eBay. 70 grams of gold plated pins doesn't contain much gold.
To start up a refining shop, even at a hobby level, would cost more to buy acids and equipment than the gold from 70 g of pins would give.

Göran

shootinginthedark said:
are you serious? I should have known that idiot was full of crap, 1200 worth of gold my ass.
thanks.

Seeing that it's 70 grams of cellphone pins which are "gold plated" I hate to say this but, the 1200 he said they're worth, is going to be closer to 12 cents, if that much. I agree Ebay would be your best bet.

Grelko said:
shootinginthedark said:
are you serious? I should have known that idiot was full of crap, 1200 worth of gold my ass.
thanks.

Seeing that it's 70 grams of cellphone pins which are "gold plated" I hate to say this but, the 1200 he said they're worth, is going to be closer to 12 cents, if that much. I agree Ebay would be your best bet.
9PysEeI.png