Transporting Nitric Acid - Sourcing Metro Detroit Supplier - Legalities - Cost

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snoman701

Small time refiner / jeweler / artist.

I have a large quantity of scrap silver mixed in various alloys.

I need to find a good supplier of nitric in less than drum quantity, but more than bottle....I've seen 13 gallon kegs...that would be perfect, and I imagine I could get it at a reasonable price at that quantity. Technical grade is perfectly acceptable, since from what I can find, I have to further dilute with distilled H2O anyway.

Given that I'm in Metro Detroit, it shouldn't be difficult to find, but I'm more than open to suggestions as well. I do have an LLC that I operate under, but am registered at a residential address. I have plenty of experience handling chemicals safely as I was previously employed in polymer / coating research. Once I move, I will have proper exhaust / ventilation...in fact, everything will be done in a ventilated glove box. You only get one body.

Where my experience falls off is the legalities and bureaucratic red tape with chemicals in greater than glass jug quantity. Is it legal for me to put a jug of nitric in the trunk of my car and drive it home? At what quantity does that end. Do I have to register myself as a purchaser, or my property (obviously an issue for residential property)?

Finally, disposal. After cementing everything out via lye, you end up with just a sludge, which can be dried...but is this considered a hazardous waste that I have to find someone to dispose of correctly? It will very likely have at least cadmium in it given my supply stream. I would have no problem disposing of it so it's "not my problem"...but I'm a bit of an environment guy, so I'm not to excited about doing things in a less than kosher method. Not to say that some kosher methods aren't entirely legal.