Hydrogen Chloride

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slaughlin79

I’m having a problem finding info about Hydrogen Chloride. This is my first time to write a post or reply as I recently signed up, but have been hear many times in the past to read and also use the search function. I’ve downloaded Lady Hokes book and I’m reading. I explain this bc I don’t want anyone thinking I’m lazy and just don’t care to show any initiative. With that said I have searched and I’ve found a times where hydrogen chloride has been brought up but the info I needed was not there. I bought some Kem Tek Muriatic acid but the label says it’s 31.45 hydrogen chloride and that kinda screwed me up. Ive searched for the differences between the two, and one guy explained it like this. He said. Its like drinking lemonade vs trying to drink the lemonade powder and then I got more confused bc well what I bought is a liquid and not a powder. I also know that powder is referring to Hydrogen Chloride Gas. So my question is can I use this like I would Hcl to make Aqua Regia? Thanks guys and gals

Hydrogen chloride (HCl) is a gas. When the gas is dissolved in water, it is what we know as hydrochloric acid or muriatic acid. The names hydrochloric acid and muriatic acid are pretty interchangeable. What you have is what we generally refer to as concentrated hydrochloric acid, also called concentrated HCl. Yes, you can use it for all the processes described here.

Dave