Layers of sludge

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goldmember123

Hello Gold refining forum ! i have 3 containers of solution with sludge i let set to the bottom. Now i know im gonna get schooled in this forum because there are some bright minds in here and im an amateur at this ! so i took a pyrex dish set 2 heavy duty beakers inside the pyrex dish, and filled them half way with my gold plated, and karat scrap items but mostly pins from different kinds of electronic devices, and i poored about one cup of hydrochloric acid in each beaker then i slowly added a half cup of nitric acid in both beakers let it cook for about 15 minutes or untill i seen there was no more gold on the pins. I processed about 12 pounds of pins. Then after that i poored the stripped pins out of the beakers into the pyrex dish and diluted it with filtered water.Then i took some tongs and grabbed the pins bunch by bunch and rinsing then off in another pyrex dish with water in it. Then i poored the solution into the containers you see in the pics, and let it settle for a couple days. Now i figured i would carefully scoop the water off with a ladle but now what do i do with my sludge ? and the picture with the red lines on it can someone please tell me what those 4 different layers in the sludge are ?

Attachments

• 20210321_215009_HDR.jpg
    20210321_215009_HDR.jpg
    3.7 MB · Views: 179
  • 20210321_221304~2.jpg
    20210321_221304~2.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 179
oh hay i forgot i threw about a quarter of smb in each batch to ! now dont ask me why all i can tell you is im really amateur at this, and i just wanted to see what would happen ! I was very careful with each step though, and safety was my top priority !

Maybe if your top post wasn't one giant paragraph, then maybe someone would take the time to read it. I didn't.