Looking for advice to refine some gold for the first time

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

qwerty14

Hi everyone! As some of you read in other thread, I’m a newbie in this world, but I’d like to try at least once about refining gold from some scrap (and it’s not for the money, just for the pleasure of doing it), so after learning and investigating I’d like to know what experts like you think about the process I’ll follow. I’d like to point that I’ll be lucky, and I’ll be able to use a more or less well equipped lab for the occasion; a friend of mine works in a high-school and they found interesting the idea, so they’ll borrow the chemistry lab: equipment, some chemicals, a “professional” hood exhaust and so on, the only things missing for now would be sulfamic acid, SMB and a mask.

Before telling all the process, I’d like to ask about using pure Stannous Chloride Dihydrate for the stannous test (they have that in the lab), I read about it but still not quite sure to transform it in a usable test (with hcl? Just heating?).

And now, speaking about what I’m going to do, I have 2 different materials to process; I will do each and after that melt the resulting gold of both.

First what could be considered around 80 ddr2 ram module’s gold fingers already de-soldered. For that, this is the process I’m thinking to do:

• Put the fingers in distilled water and add some nitric, heat and add more nitric as needed until all base metals are dissolved (medium heat). I didn’t say but I won’t be adding huge amounts of nitric, just small amounts of it. Then filter it after it colds.
  • Take what is left, and make AR. Like before, I’ll be adding HCL and the nitric after in small doses until it’s dissolved (medium heat). Then filter again after it colds.