Pgm extraction magnetic SS

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reverse AR will probably work depending on what PGMs you have but you do need a fume hood and be able to neutralize the excess nitric.
This takes some knowledge and practice it is also producing highly toxic salts, so read and protect yourself, so if you have no experience try small batches to perfect the technique before doing bigger batches.

What do you mean by reverse Ar? I have extracted pgm off honey comb w/ hcl & peroxide by heating the hcl solution for 3 hours . I have a 48" paint booth fan hooked to my fume hood in my shop.
I was able to precipatate Rh&PD along w Ag using Sodium Chlorate . I am well aware of platinosis & muster gas dangers this produced.
I have no experience with nitric.
I assume your saying to dissolve all the SS with nitric , decant the solution and filter remaining powder which should be Pgm & bit of alumina oxide .

Nitric will passivate the SS and then addition of HCl will make weak AR, which in turn dissolves the other metals.
If you have a metal honeycomb, it will easily dissolve in HCl.
But this will consume a substantial amount of HCl and time,
if you get it cheap and easy, this is still an easy way to go.
You will then be left with a powder containg the PGMs and it will be easy to go from there.
Just test the "spent" HCl (because it may have dissolved some PdO) before diverting it to the waste process.

Ok I got you so test with stannous & if it shows no pgm in solution , neutralize and dispose of solution at haz waste drop off .
Can I dillute the hcl solution ?

You mean dilute for dissolving?
I have done this once and I diluted it some, but din't use heat.
It will have been faster if heated, and it will most likely dissolve more metal pr given volume of acid if diluted.