First Batch Size

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JackWaggons

Out of pure curiosity. I have been collecting gold plated pins ( board pins, vga pins, gps/phone antenna blocks). All of them have been separated into full plated and partially plated.
My question is for a first newbie batch run. How much weight in pins should I start with? Most of the full plated pins are deep yellow/light orange. They appear to have a thicker plating than the light yellow hue of flash plating. However, looks can be deceiving. I pulled most of the pins out of old aircraft electronics/navigation units. I am an aircraft mechanic and I scrap the old units for free. Boss does not like the clutter in the shop. I am seeing ranges of .001-.008% yields in my research and was just curious what I should start with/ what is the minimum yield recoverable.

Jack

Hi jack, the minimum recoverable is zero :evil: :lol: the maximum is what your focus should be. If you tested in the range of .001-.008 then that would be your maximum recoverable yield. As far as how much to start with, please share how large your cell is.. You could start with one lb and run continous batches, I assume your doing a sulfuric strip. Let the gold powder drop and keep adding pins until you run out, clean the powder from your cell and proceed to AR purification. You should be able to use your electrolyte almost indefinitely. Be safe, have loads of fun and let us know how it goes. :p Jonn.

Haha so funny with the zero :p. I have yet to do any batches ever in my life. I am eager to start and was just curious what is a recoverable amount of foil. I was planning on doing an AP soak not a
Sulfuric deplate. I am too cheap to get the charger rig and all that. If I shoot for a 1/4 gram is that even capable of recovery?

Jack

I would go with batch size more then yeild.