Extracting gold from gold filled Jewelry

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ian18206

Hello everyone I'm new to this forum,and so far it seems like a great environment. I just had a few questions to ask everyone. I started a batch of gold filled jewelry, which i have never done before. I read a lot about the process but couldn't get exact details on how to do it. So what i have done so far is to dilute it i was supposed to put it in a 1 to 1 solution of 70% nitric and distilled water. and the reaction hours later has completely stopped. the liquid has became blue in color and i see flakes of gold floating at the top. it didn't completely dissolve the gold filled jewelry because its still at the bottom of the jar. I was just wondering if i should gather the flakes and run them through aqua ragia, or if I'm supposed to filter the solution and keep the gold flakes and then run the remains at the bottom of the jar through ar. Or if i just completely did the wrong process for gold filled. Please help me out guys I've never done gold filled before and would locw to hear from you all.
Thanks
Ian

your reaction may have run out of nitric before it was completed.some gold filled jewelry will hold its shape even after the base metal has been dissolved depending on the type and wear. filter the solution you have now into a clean vessel to reclaim the silver and replace the solution with fresh acid and start the reaction again to be sure you have dissolved all the base metal.

it is a good idea to incinerate gold filled jewelry before you start the process to remove any organic material.

did you process any watch bands? if so,did you remove the stainless steel and springs?

after your sure the base metal is dissolved, then you can move on to AR. from the sound of it your doing pretty good so far.

Hi Ian!
I agree with Geo.