New to this whole thing, questions about pins, and some things

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

owossopc

I wanna start by saying I am new to this idea. I've been selling e-scrap material for about 3 years, but I think Im gonna try to process some of the material for fun. I have an endless source of varying types of materials and a professional setting to do the work.

I plan on using an AP type process, just because I am not really comfortable with AR.

Anyway. I have this other material sample. It is the pins pulled from female sides of IDE cable connectors. They're easy enough to get out, and I have significant access to them, so curious. I know I know, yield will differ based on maker, and it appears only the end couple of millimeters have any kind of plating. I'm curious too if they'll have any silver content.

I guess time will tell, just wondered if anyone had any experience with this sort of pins?

Attachments

• IMG_8908.jpg
    IMG_8908.jpg
    430.8 KB · Views: 276
The modern IDE connectors have very little gold in them. The older stuff can be pretty good though. You need to look out for the older 3-M ones, they usually have fully plated pins.

owossopc said:
I wanna start by saying I am new to this idea. I've been selling e-scrap material for about 3 years, but I think Im gonna try to process some of the material for fun. I have an endless source of varying types of materials and a professional setting to do the work.

I plan on using an AP type process, just because I am not really comfortable with AR.