A newbie in need of some tips

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Robert3

Hello everyone,
Im new to the forum and was hoping some of the nice folk here could help steer me in the right direction in regards to a question i have.

Currently I run a little antique store in MA and we have been getting increased quantities of gold and silver sold to us recently. My question is what would be the best option to do with the gold acquired. As far as I can tell I have 3 options:

-Sell on eBay (but then there's reductions from selling fees etc)
-Sell to a local pawnshop (he offers around 90% but his formula makes no logical sense to me and creates a
different % per karat and per spot of gold)
-Sell it to a refiner (I have zero experience in this field and have never dealt with a refiner before but am
interested, also if i were to sell to a refiner would it be better to melt down any jewelry into a bar of mixed and
have it assayed in that form or separate as the jewelry itself)

Any advice or tips are very appreciated
Thanks in advance,
Rob

Perhaps you could post some pictures along with any descriptions or provenance. I am sure others here would be better suited to give you advice.

Dennis