Cement

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
The precious metals will cement to copper. Gold, silver, platinum, and so on. I think in terms of simple language, but it has to do with the reactivity series of metals. Anything below a given metal will cement to that metal. Copper is right above the precious metals and that is why copper is the suggested metal when collecting mixed precious metals from a solution as well as a single one such as silver. One exception may be that copper will attract mercury. I am not very good at explaining this type stuff as I struggle at times to get things from my mind into words. I am sure someone better will correct me if I got it wrong, which is one of the great things about this forum.

Shark, you think you have trouble explaining things you should see me struggle with words, heck I am always getting E'm backards, or my mouth or fingers typing something different than what I have in mind to say...

You do a great job, my friend, Keep up the good work.

When I process my Silver I didn't want to cement no other metal but my Silver. Is there any other metal that could get cement?

If you are only working with sterling or coin silver you should have no worries, the other elements that will cement out include the precious metals are Mercury as mentioned and tungsten I believe so unless you suspect any of those metals you should be good to use copper, if you suspect those metals convert to chloride and then cement the spent solution.

Theoretically speaking working with nitric and silver, I understood that some Palladium (if present) can follow silver in or out of solution, and Palladium itself is soluble in hot nitric acid. Cementing this solution will also bring down Palladium. Those two are separated by forming AgCl to keep Pd in solution if i'm right... if not, we'll here it soon.