Gold recovery from multilayer PCB

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wkvisual

Hello,

I'm looking for help determining the best path for refinement of the gold within multilayered RF boards. These boards are no expense spared microwave communication related boards, and used gold for all connections and throughout the board for the RF characteristics. There are 2 outer layers of gold traces and contacts, as well as 4 inner layers of traces. I have no experience with refinement but I am fortunate to have access to a large high temperature electric furnace, if that can be used for the process.

Photos attached

Attachments

• IMG-8756.jpg
    IMG-8756.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 151
  • IMG-8754.jpg
    IMG-8754.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 150
  • IMG-8752.jpg
    IMG-8752.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 150
wkvisual said:
Hello,

I'm looking for help determining the best path for refinement of the gold within multilayered RF boards. These boards are no expense spared microwave communication related boards, and used gold for all connections and throughout the board for the RF characteristics. There are 2 outer layers of gold traces and contacts, as well as 4 inner layers of traces. I have no experience with refinement but I am fortunate to have access to a large high temperature electric furnace, if that can be used for the process.

Photos attached

Hi

First you need to remove those iron or aluminum pieces, then I would leave them in hcl to dissolve solders and release the components.

Then wash the components and boards using 10 percent lye solution.

You can dry and sort the components and process them accordingly.

wkvisual said:
Will HCL work to liberate the gold contained within the inner layers of the pcb?

Hi