Growing old and retirement

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harold_V

Moderator Emeritus
viacin,

I was a machinist for 26 years, having been trained in a missile facility as a youngster right out of high school. Self employed for the last 16 of them. When I closed the doors on my shop, it was because of our move to the castle, which was not finished. I expected I'd start the shop once again, but by the time I had the lab up and running, I was so far behind in refining that I never seemed to get caught up again. By then, it came in as fast as I could get it out, and just got better and better. I had no need to machine any longer, and gladly abandoned any plans to do so again. I was disenchanted with the machines by then, and still don't enjoy running them, although I still have a shop full.

I specialized in small work, plus did a great deal of tooling for the aero-space industry (guidance systems for defense). I no longer had anything to prove, and was enjoying refining like you can't believe. For me, it was sheer magic. Still, as time wore on and I found myself ever busier, right down to working on Christmas and New Years, I knew things had to change.

My life has been filled with small rewards, but I must confess, I've earned every one of them. Nothing has come easily for me. I lack education-----but I don't know the meaning of the word NO-----I feel I can accomplish anything I desire----I just have to work at it a bit harder than guys that have an education. I'm also gifted with a commodity that tends to be rare these days----common sense.