Casting a 2tonne block of gold (yes I said 2tonne)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

I am a prospective author researching for my first novel. The plot requires that my characters dispose of two tonnes of stolen gold. UK law on treasure (treasure trove) states that gold or silver buried treasure of artistic or historic value is the property of the Crown (these days the UK government), but that the finders and the property owner where the find is made are rewarded at full value. There are lots of rules to follow and it takes about two years but it would provide a way of turning the gold into cash at full value and tax free. Obviously turning up with several hundred ingots bearing the stamp of a mining company that has just had several hundred ingots stolen from it is not very clever, so my characters propose to convert the gold into a 10th century religious alter. They then pretend to find it, hand it over, and claim the reward. Of course they will firstly adulterate the gold with some copper and silver to simulate the degree of refining available in the 10th century. At first I had thought of them creating Saxon jewellery or Spanish Doubloons but the conversion process would be too complex and time consuming, and the fakes too easy to spot. A massive find on this scale would create so much infighting amongst the academic community that they just might loose sight of the fraud, as they did in the case of Piltdown Man.

I need help on the following technical points.
Can a large casting be created by pouring many shots into the same mould? The casting process may be spread over several weeks.
Would the metal fuse together to form single block or would the separate pours just split apart easily?