Melting problems (problem solved!)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ryanm

first off I'd like to say this is a awesome forum. My name is Ryan and I've been buying silver for about three years now. I thought it would be fun to make my own bars but today when I tried to melt a cheap silver round all it did was turn into a blob. Every time it would start to get hot enough to start melting it would only melt a little and then go back to turning hard. I'm using map gas with my bernzomatic ts4000 torch head. Any speculation as to what I'm doing wrong? I sat there for literally 15 minutes with the torch on it and it would melt enough for me to pour it.

Ryan

That tourch should melt it. Do you have an insulating blanket between your melting dish and the surface it is setting on if not that will help because the surface it is setting on can act like a heat sink and absorb some of the heat you are generating. How much are you trying to melt at once?

Barren Realms 007 said:
That tourch should melt it. Do you have an insulating blanket between your melting dish and the surface it is setting on if not that will help because the surface it is setting on can act like a heat sink and absorb some of the heat you are generating. How much are you trying to melt at once?
No insulating blanket being used. I'm only trying to melt an ounce so it's nothing much. I managed to melt it into a blob the size of a quarter. I had to give up because I was using too much of my gas trying to melt it down so I was pretty frustrated.

It's not the size of your melt or the temperature of the flame, it's the rate you are loosing heat to the surrounding that stops you from melting your silver.