How to design electric elements for kilns

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rolynd

Hello guys,
I recently became interested in refining and still reading a lot on the process as in this area I am still a newbie.
What I noticed was that some people are trying to build electric kilns and in this area I do have some experience, so I wanted to contribute a little of what I know on this process to the forums. Maybe this is a help for some of you kiln builders.

This comes in two parts, first the build of the furnace, second the theoretical part of how to design the proper elements.

Overall there are three considerations:
1. decide of a Wattage the furnace must have for a given size
2. from this you calculate the element
3. checking for one of the most important factors: surface load of the element so its longlived and does not melt down when in use.

As outer shell I used an old clothing bin which I had laying around.

For insulation I used a porous stone used for insulating houses and such sold under the brand name Ytong here in germany.

pro: insulates well, cheap, readily available, easy to work with.

Con: usable only for temperatures up to 1000-1100°C, will see how it holds up over time.

Heating is accomplished with a coiled nichrome 80/20 wire which is good for temperatures up to 1200°C

For controlling the power I used a 2600W /15A power control (brand:Kemo)

I decided on 2000W of power for the kiln. with 230V this gives me 26,45 Ohms. the wire has 1,4 Ohms/meter so I needed 18,89m of wire to get 2000Watts.

surface load of the wire is ca 3,4 Watts/cm2 which is a little high if the furnace is used longer times at top temperature but for the intended 1000°C it will suffice.

You could also have built a square one but had the round container on hands so it was a round one.