Are there any mistakes to my method for a first-timer gold recovery and refining?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hi all,

Im looking to do my first recovery and crude refining! This is my current equipment list and method and im looking to see if I'm missing any important steps or equipment. Is anyone able to identify any major errors in this method? Note: I will move the reaction steps outside since I don’t have access to a fume hood and I will also be wearing long sleeves, pants and covered shoes. and I'm not going to bother with some drops of sulfuric acid for lead contamination, this is my first attempt and I just want to get some practice getting the crude stuff.

EQUIPMENT NEEDED:
  • Breathing mask (P100)
  • Heavy Duty Gloves: pvc or rubber (not latex or nitrile gloves)
  • Safety Glasses: Any pair will work as long as It is safety rated and solvent rated.

• Gold-plated pins
  • Beakers/jars
  • Watch glass
  • Glass/ceramic Funnel
  • filter paper

• HCl (32%)
  • Hydrogen peroxide (3%)
  • Household bleach
  • Sodium metabisulfite (SMB)

• Stannous crystals
  • Tin metal
  • Dropper bottle

MAKING STANNOUS TESTING SOLUTION:
  1. Take about a gram of the stannous chloride crystals in the dropping bottle
  2. Add a gram or less of tin metal
  3. Fill the bottle with 25ml of tap water
  4. Add a little hydrochloric acid, about 25 or 30 drops to the 50mL bottle.
(This gives a milky liquid which is ready to use. The tin metal will dissolve very slowly, and it serves to keep the solution in good condition.)

RECOVERING GOLD FROM PINS:
  1. Make a solution of 2 parts HCL acid to 1 part hydrogen peroxide
  2. Add solution to beaker full of gold pins
  3. Put on medium heat and cover with watch glass
  4. Stir occasionally until all base metals are in solution
  5. Filter gold flakes from solution