Beginner gold silver smelt book

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Appleidet

I’m a beginner and I need some help. What’s the simplest, best book, cheapest for smelting gold and silver? Step by step. Thanks and I’m excited to find this sight Today.

Melting or smelting?
For melting clean gold and silver you only need a borax glazed crucible and heat. An electric or gas furnace or just a torch with gas and oxygen will work.
Pick the bead out before the borax solidifies.
Or pour in a graphite mold.

I've been smelting for a few months and have been making some good stuff. I keep getting a bunch of gold that layers the outside of my cones after I flux. Like I get the clouded glass slag layer, and the metal cone that breaks free from the top of the pyramid. This is where i am running into issues....

The cones keep coming out with a gold layer the more we refine it. It's not mixing with the silver, it's not dissolving when we try a 10-14k acid test, so is it gold? Is this typical? Has anyone else seen this? Take a look at the pics and video for a look at what I'm talking about. Any clarification would be awesome.

Thanks BCM

Attachments

• 20220124_112330.jpg
    20220124_112330.jpg
    846.2 KB · Views: 6
  • 20220124_112414.mp4
    34.2 MB
  • 20220124_112308.jpg
    20220124_112308.jpg
    733.8 KB · Views: 6
  • 20220124_112300.jpg
    20220124_112300.jpg
    595.5 KB · Views: 6
  • 20220124_112323.jpg
    20220124_112323.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 6
  • 20220124_112330.jpg
    20220124_112330.jpg
    846.2 KB · Views: 6
BCM,