Brand spanking new to refining

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slickwidnick

Hello, I am brand new to gold refining. I have a bunch of old cellphones that I want to process for fun and to see just how much gold is in this scrap. I've gotten as far as removing all the circuit boards, removed all the steel shields and the frames that are connected to the boards that the shields sit on, and I've broken the boards into small pieces of about 1 - 1.5 inch pieces and that's where I'm at. I have no idea what chemicals I'm gonna need or where to get said chemicals.

Also i have a decent chunk of silver that I need to refine, and was going to go the nitric acid route, but have been unlucky in finding a source for the nitric acid.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Welcome to the forum slickwidnick. You have a lot of studying ahead of you. Everything you need to know is here on the forum, but you'll have to do the work by reading, reading, and reading some more.

You have a variety of different types of materials on circuit boards, and they require different processes. Don't break any more up until you understand how to cherry pick them for the best marts to process, and sell the rest.

I usually recommend my Tips for Navigating and Posting on the Forum thread to new members, but we aware that our recent software changeover has made some of the posts in that thread outdated. But most of it has been updated, so I hope it will still help.

Dave

Thanks. Yeah I started to look around for info, but I've got no clue even what to look for, let alone where to find it. Any tips on what I should be sticking in the search bar and what to look for?