Catalytic converter recovery and refine

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmarth10

hello all
I'm a newbie with refining. I have been reading so much info on the AR process for cats. It seems that all I can find is 4 parts hcl and 1 part nitric for making AR. That's the only info I can find. I don't no if roasting is necessary. If so how do I do that. Then what is next. Just drop the honeycomb or pellets in? So next the pt pd and rh are suspended in the AR? Then I would like to actually separate the pt pd and rh from eachother to make them pure. I cannot find out how to precipitate then all separate from one another. Basically I read for a couple months and found nothing. I really need a step by step process breakdown. I don't know where to find this. Please can someone point me in the right direction? Mainly the separation of the pgms from Eachother. I appreciate all your help.

Thanks again
Dave

P.s. Sorry for typos as I just spent a half hour typing on my phone.

Dave,

Welcome to the forum.

Once you have extracted the PGMs from the cats the metals will all be dissolved in the liquid.

Filter the solution until it is completely transparent with no floating particles or sediment.

Adjust the pH of the solution to around 5 using soda ash.

Add finely powdered zinc dust (-200 mesh). The solution will fizz and foam as the metal is added so add slowly with lots of stirring. Continue to add the zinc until the color of the solution turns clear with a gray suspension in it. Most of the black/gray powder should settle quickly. If the solution is still colored red, orange, or yellow, more zinc is required. If zinc additions do not produce a reaction then add a few mL of HCl. If you see a white layer mixed with the black powder on the bottom add water and stir.