Cheap electrolysis idea?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tinrat

I am totally new to escrap Reclaimation. I hope to start by experimenting with silver and gold refining.
I understand the cherry picking process and hope to gain knowledge of this separation. I also have an idea I need input on.
After the “picking” harvest, could one use electrolysis to dissolve other remaining metals off the boards or wire or what have you in leftover scrap?

Here is my question:
I have a wind generator I recently acquired. I don’t wish to try to harvest electricity to run my shop as there are many more costs and requirements I haven’t the budget or inclination to try. But it can be set up to deliver a constant (most times) source of electrical energy. By utilizing this I could dissolve copper and what have you, this would be a relatively cheap use of energy. Could one then cement the metals out of solution? Further refining could be administered if needed. I have many thoughts on this as a process but have no formal education. And is saltwater the best for a cheap and easy electrolyte?
I would like to see if this might be done in a fairly easy economic fashion. Any and all criticism or promotion of said ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Don

Electrolysis on pcb's does not work. You would have to make contact to each piece of copper trace as they dissolve and get smaller and break wlie still stuck to the board.

For copper Electrolysis you'll need a solid cast anode of at least 95% pure copper to process in sulphuric acid electrolyte and distilled water with copper sulphate added.
The copper dissolves and collects on the stainless steel cathode. Any precious metals are left behind in the anode bag as slimes.
But after cherry picking there are only base metals and solder left.