Clorox Method

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

crgoode

Hi Everyone,
I am still new to recovery/refining and am new to this forum. I have been going through a lot of trial and error. I have got a few methods down and started looking into the Clorox method. Do I still need to get rid of the base metals on CPU pins with this method? or will HCL-CL only react with the gold plate? Once again I am new to this and am trying to minimize my learning curve. Many of you guys are a great wealth of info and enjoy reading through the forums.

Any advice is appreciated, Thanks

First, read Hoke. Second, safety first and always. Third, do it outside or you will die or be injured. Fourth, dissolve base metals first, isolate the foils, then do Hcl/bleach to dissolve the gold. If you have to ask more after that, refer to "First".

You would think reading is safe, but I have a scar from one of the largest paper cuts to ever happen. (Freak accident)
Correct your base metals will have to be dissolved first or bits of your gold will most likely go into solution and come right back out making a mess..
Its good advice to do as the above mentioned by GotTheBug.
Welcome to the forum. 8)

Hello.
Sorry for my English but I'm still learning.
I'm reading this forum for very long time and came time to first question.
Does instead of bleach can be used pool chlorine in HCl / Cl method ??

Sodium Hypochlorite is what you need if you can get it in Poland- the Americans often use a brand of pool cleaner called Chlorox, so yes is the answer to your question.

sokon said:
Hello.
Sorry for my English but I'm still learning.
I'm reading this forum for very long time and came time to first question.
Does instead of bleach can be used pool chlorine in HCl / Cl method ??