Dropping copper (again) and other interogations

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ditto

Bonsoir, good evening.

I have been getting my feet wet by dissolving my silver scrap (I am a bench jeweller by profession) and recovering the silver, and that all went outstanding well. I have read Hooke's once from start to finish, and keep reading and revisiting things. Ultimately, I don't know if I continue to refine my metals, or just parts, or none, but it's a great experience for a precious metal-guy.

So I was left with my silver cemented out and a nitric solution of copper. Originally, I just wanted to get rid of it, environmentally correct, and dumped scrap iron into it. It sat for a month or two. I changed my mind telling me that it would be a nice exercise to collect the copper as well.

I filtered a good amount of that brown mud that settled, but I am at a loss of what I have at hand now. Reading the forum (and it's posting about that subject) are still over my head, so excuse my stupid questions.

1. If I assume for the moment that I had no idea what I have here in front if me, would I be able to tell if this is copper or iron oxide (rust) ?

2. My intention is to wash the mud a couple of times with HCl to get rid of any Zn, Pb, ... or whatever I have left. Then washing with distilled. Good thinking ?

3. The 'brown soup and mud' (tm) did actually leave a coloration on glass and porcelain I used in the process. It doesn't go away with simple washing under running water. Side question : How to take care of my dishes ? Is tap water "allowed" for household tasks ?

Sorry for the stupidness, I can only hope this helps the next guy on the same road.

Hi Ditto, the brown mud will be mostly if not only copper. What do you intend to use it for once recovered?