Filters in fume hood

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

delboy9891

Supporting Member
Hi folks, newbie here from Scotland, I work in a science park so was lucky enough to get a small fume hood for free, it has prefilters and two heavy main filters which slide in to the fume hood, it also has two spare filters which I believe to be hepa filters, the other two are activated carbon filters, my question is what filters are best to extract the acid fumes, safety is my first concern, many thanks in advance for any replies

Bad news is the filters will not work for too long , you would be better off adding a scrubber system to the hood, there are full designs here on the forum for home made systems.

I would be very careful with a ductless fume hood. It will cause a false sense or security, which is particularly dangerous with poisonous gases.

I do a lot of things inside my house that generate small amounts of fumes and depending on what I’m doing I’ll do my reactions in a flask with a sidearm and bubble the gas through different things depending on what I’m doing.

I do my silver refining in a 2 liter flask with a sidearm and bubble the NOx into hydrogen peroxide, which has the benefit of making some dilute nitric which I either distill or use to dilute concentrated nitric acid.

A more well known scrubber for NOx is the system that is used in Diesel engines and requires DEF (diesel exhaust fluid) which is urea and deionized water. The hot exhaust gasses pass over a membrane that is sprayed with DEF and the urea/water vapor reacts with the NOx and turns them into CO2 and water. Funny enough when I was reading about this, I learned that this was invented by the Engelhard Corporation who must have had to come up with some way to reduce their NOx emissions from refining silver!