Flux recipes (smelting)

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

twangin4u

What factors determine what your flix recipe should be? Im new to this hobby and I've had a few successful smelts where the precious metal and lead collected on bottom and were well separated from matte and waste... I've had a lot more that turned out like crap. The material was too gooey. Maybe not hot enough. My grandpa had saved some ore many years ago and I decided to try and see what I could do with it. It contains quite a bit of silver. Ill attach some pictures and im interested in any opinions

The first pictures are the ore.
And a couple of what I was left with after cupeling lead..
And a couple of what the ore looks like out of the crucible

Attachments

• 20210513_132928.jpg
    20210513_132928.jpg
    738.4 KB · Views: 13
  • 20210513_132917.jpg
    20210513_132917.jpg
    1,010.2 KB · Views: 11
  • 20210513_132902.jpg
    20210513_132902.jpg
    700.2 KB · Views: 11
  • 20210803_192636.jpg
    20210803_192636.jpg
    966.8 KB · Views: 13
  • 20210803_192613.jpg
    20210803_192613.jpg
    916.7 KB · Views: 12
  • 20210803_192618.jpg
    20210803_192618.jpg
    844.9 KB · Views: 12
  • 20211221_003310.jpg
    20211221_003310.jpg
    743.2 KB · Views: 12
  • 20211221_003326.jpg
    20211221_003326.jpg
    976.5 KB · Views: 12
  • 20211220_193005.jpg
    20211220_193005.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 12
  • 20211220_193107.jpg
    20211220_193107.jpg
    942.9 KB · Views: 11
Lol.. oops.. I didn't even mention my flux recipe.. I have used Chapman flux... it didn't really seem to work all that great. I mostly use borax... I think some of my problem is my furnace not quite getting hot enough. Im using a cut open propane tank (5 gal) lined with kaeowool and lined with refractory cement. Propane is my fuel with acetylene regulator and homemade nozzle